Return to Headlines

Fourteen Texans Named to District 13-4A All-District First Team in Football

December 18, 2020

The Wimberley Texan football team was well-represented on the 2020 District 13-4A-II All-District football squad, including claiming both the Offensive and Defensive MVP slots.

Senior quarterback Matthew Tippie was unanimously named the district's Offensive Most Valuable Player and junior defensive back Nathan Simpson was the Defensive Most Valuable Player. In addition, senior Christian Marshall, who missed the district slate due to injury, was awarded the district's Coaches' Award. The other Texans that were named to the squad are below:

First Team Offense
RB - Moses Wray, jr.
WR - Jaxon Watts, sr.*
WR - Ty Pruett, sr.*
OL - Ryan Rubio, sr.*
OL - Reece Randig, jr.

First Team Defense
DT - Walt Gold, sr.*
DE - Ethan Lancaster, jr.
LB - Nova Rankin, sr.*
LB - Kerrick Lai, jr.
DB - Dylan Kincaid, jr.*
DB - Canyun Staton, jr.*

First Team Special Teams
Returner - Juan Olmedo, jr.*

* indicates a unanimous selection

Second Team Offense
RB - Juan Olmedo, jr.
TE - Dylan Kincaid, jr.
C - Hector Herrera, jr.
OL - Noah Haussecker, so. 
OL - Ethan Lancaster, jr.
WR - Josh Limely, sr.
WR - Colby Cotten, sr.

Second Team Defense
DT - Kadon Gonce, so.
DE - Moses Wray, jr.
LB - Cameron Cayce, sr.
LB - Cole Schroeder, sr.
LB - John Boyle, jr.
DB - Juan Olmedo, jr.

Second Team Special Teams
K - Jack Bruner, jr.

Juan Olmedo was named to three different positions on the all-district team, and Wray, Lancaster, and Kincaid were each named at two different positions. The Texans finished as district runner-up and advanced to the state semifinals, losing to eventual champion Carthage HS. The team is led by head coach Doug Warren.