Return to Headlines

WHS Celebrates Students with Scholarship Ceremony

May 12, 2023
Wimberley HS held its annual Scholarship Ceremony on May 11th, distributing awards and recognizing scholarship recipients from the Class of 2023. WHS seniors have received nearly $3.8 million in total offered scholarships. That number includes a total of $231,900 awarded by local organizations. The following are the Class of 2023's local awards and scholarships that were reported and awarded:


Scholastic Excellence Award - A recognition of the highest academic achieving boy and girl in the senior class.

Kayla Pierce
John Moore


Scholar Athlete Award - A recognition of the male athlete and the female athlete who have the highest GPA in the senior class.

John Moore
Emily Thames


National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Scholars

John Moore 


Lone Star Theatre Awards

Azula Hunter-Thiam $500


Ozona National Bank Scholarship                

Brady Barbee $500
Tristan Herring $500  
Zoey Logan $500  
Trinity Rivera $500


Wimberley Masonic Lodge Scholarship

Aiden Albertson $500
Addison Kirbo $500


Hochheim-Prairie Branch 111 D&D Insurance Agency Scholarship

Brayden Chambliss $1,000
Kaeden Coltharp $1,000
Tristan Herring $1,000
Lane Patek $1,000
Thomas Watson $1,000


Wimberley Institute of Cultures Bill Johnson Memorial Scholarship

Lane Patek $1000
Bryce Phillips $1000
Thomas Watson $1000


Wimberley Water Supply Raymond L. Czichos Memorial Scholarship

Brady Barbee $1500
Tristan Herring $1500


League of Women Voters of Hays County - Youth Civic Education Scholarship

Azula Hunter-Thiam $500


Gerloff Company, Inc. Scholarship

Kaeden Coltharp $1,000


Wimberley Youth Sports Association

Brady Barbee $1,000
Victoria Valkner $900
Lane Patek $800
Addison Kirbo $700
Dane Hennessee $600
Bryce Phillips $500
Tristan Herring $500
Thomas Watson $500
Nate Brooks $500

TOTAL $6,000


Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority (GBRA) Scholarship

Bryce Phillips $1,500


Hays County Sheriff

Ramon Alvarez Moreno $2000


Pedernales Electric Cooperative (PEC) Scholarship

Brayden Chambliss $1,000
Emmie Van De Walle $1,000


Ron “Doc” Richards Honorarium Scholarship

Mi Guerra $1,000
Kayla Pierce $1,000


“What the Constitution Means to Me and Why” Scholarship - sponsored by Lila McCall

Thomas Watson $750


Wimberley Community Civic Club Scholarship        

Tristan Herring
Azula Hunter-Thiam
Charles McNabb
Bryce Phillips
Julia Rennels
Ariana Sokcevic
Kate Von Gonten
Thomas Watson


Marvin Joseph Memorial Scholarship presented by the Knights of Columbus Council 9151

Maria Valencia $4,000
Alison Bowell $3,000
Mi Guerra $2,000
Lane Patek $2,000
Bryce Phillips $2,000
Thomas Watson $2,000

Career and Technical Education:
Kaeden Coltharp $2,000


Rotary Club of Wimberley

Trinity Rivera $1,500
Thomas Watson $1,500


Elite Roofing and Restoration Scholarship

Kaeden Coltharp $1,000


Four Rivers Association of Realtors Scholarship

Diego Elizondo $1,000


Wimberley 4H

Bryce Phillips $2,000


Wimberley Texan Car Wash

Kaeden Coltharp $1,000


Wimberley Lion’s Club Scholarship

Academic: $8,000 over 4 years
Brayden Chambliss $8,000
David Fraprie $8,000
Mi Guerra $8,000
Bryce Phillips $8,000
Julia Rennels $8,000
Trinity Rivera $8,000
Thomas Watson $8,000

Technical: $4,000 over 2 years
Kaeden Coltharp $4,000


Robert Moreman Memorial Scholarship

Azula Hunter-Thiam $15,000
Kinbe Perez $15,000
Anna Masson Land $15,000


Wimberley Texan Athletic Booster Association

Brady Barbee $1,000
Jackson Boyle $1,000
Ava Hennessee $1,000
Zoey Logan $1,000
Bryce Phillips $1,000


Wimberley Democrats Betty Wright Scholarship

Julia Rennels $500


Love Like Logan Scholarship

Lauren Boyle
Lane Patek
Julia Rennels
Ryan Slade
Thomas Watson
Brady Barbee
Lillie Bolton
Jack Boyle
Allison Bowell
Madelyn Harris
Ava Hennessee
Dane Hennessee
Saraya Manning
Kinbe Perez

GRAND TOTAL of $37,450


Academic Booster Club Scholarship

ABC Academic Recognition Scholarship Recipients
Brady Barbee
Ava Hennessee
Annie Novak
Lane Patek
Claire Valentine

ABC Academic Accolade Scholarship Recipient
Lauren Boyle

ABC White Scholarship Recipient
Brayden Chambliss
Victoria Valkner
Emmie Van De Walle  

ABC Blue Scholarship Recipient

Ramon Alvarez Moreno

ABC Red Scholarship Recipient
Bryce Phillips
Trinity Rivera
Thomas Watson

ACE College Scholarship Recipient
Layne Herring  

ACE Trade School Scholarship Recipient
Kaeden Coltharp  

Theresa Hebert Scholarship Recipient
Alex Davenport


Military Enlistment Recognition:

Elizabeth May - Air Force
Madeline Nagy - Air Force
Gabriel Guerra - Army
Aiden Lillis - Army
Selah Jones - Marines

In addition to the local scholarships and the other recognitions that students received at the ceremony, the following scholarships have also been reported as accepted by members of the Class of 2023. (Listed by student's name, alphabetically.)

Abigail Adams

Southwestern Merit Scholarship


Nate Brooks

National Recognition Scholarship Program Univ. of Alabama


Abigail Burttschell

e Learning Undergraduate Savannah College of Art and Design



SCAD Achievement Award



Federal Pell Grant


Benjamin Cabler

Texas Tech Merit Scholarship


Brayden Chambliss

Abilene Christian University


Isabella Cline

Texas State Merit Scholarship



UMHB Academic Scholarship



UMHB Freshman Academic Scholarship


Samuel Crow

Tx. Tuition Equilization Grant



Trinity Academic Dean Scholarship



Trinity Legacy Endowed Scholarship



Trinity Grant


Emma Davenport

21st Century Scholarship



VFW Scholarship


Elijah Dubuisson

Unsung Hero Scholarship


Maya Garcia

Cathedral of Learning Achievement Scholarship -Univ. Pittsburgh


David Hathorn

Texas State Assured Scholarship



Federal Pell Grant - Texas State University



Texas Public Education Grant - Texas State University



Texas Merit Scholarship - Texas State University


Noah Haussecker

Texas A&M (ROTC Scholarship) corps of cadets





Azula Hunter - Thiam

Tisch Scholarship


Addison Kirbo

Athletic Scholarship - Navarro Junior College


Anna Land

SCAD Achievement Award Savannah College of Art and Design



SCAD Merit Scholarship


Brasen Leonard

College Board National Recognition Program Award


Maggie Leonard

Ruter Scholarship Award



Academic Dean Scholarship


Saraya Manning

College Board National Recognition Program Award



Texas A&M Tuition Support Award


Charles McNabb

Colorado School of Mines Merrit Scholarship


John Moore

Gator Nation Scholarship - Univ. of Florida



Research Scholar Scholarship


Ava Newman

University of Utah - Housing allowance


Annie Novak

Presidents Guaranteed Scholarship


Kinbe Perez

Crusader Scholarship - UMHB



Deans Scholarship UMHB


Bryce Phillips

College Board National Recognition Program Award(Harding)


Kayla Pierce

Archbold Day Merit scholarship for International Students



Success Award



Syracuse University Discovery Grant (Homestay)


Julia Rennels

George Mason University Excellance Scholarship



George Mason Idea Scholarship


Jack Riser

Univ. of Arkansas Non-Resident Tuition Scholarship


Chloe Shipman

University of N. Texas Excellence Scholar-Scrappy Award


Ryan Slade

UMHB Freshman Academic Scholarship



Texas Juvenile Justice Association Scholarship


Claire Valentine

Angelina College Athletic Scholarship


Victoria Valkner

Texas State Merit Scholarship