Return to Headlines

Wimberley HS UIL Academic Team/Speech & Debate Claims Sweepstakes at Hays Meet

February 14, 2023

On Saturday, February 11, the Wimberley HS UIL Academic Team, as well as members of the WHS Speech & Debate team competed at a local meet hosted by Hays High School. Other competitors at the meet were from nearby Dripping Springs HS, Bowie HS, NB Canyon HS, Johnson (Buda) HS, SA Memorial HS, Judson HS (Converse), Westlake HS, and the host school, Hays HS. Wimberley dominated the overal competition, winning first place sweepstakes with a total of 473 points - a winning margin of 278 points about the second place finisher.

The following students/teams placed at the meet:

Accounting-1st Place Team
1st- Madeline Plant
2nd- Ian Sowersby
3rd- Carson Peoples
Journalism-1st Place Team
Copy Editing 
1st Gage Trudeau
2nd Kaitlyn Marinos
3rd- Kayla Pierce
4th- Eden Kruse
Editorial Writing
1st- Kayla Pierce
5th- Gage Trudeau
Feature Writing
1st- Peyton Shaw
4th- Elena Martin
6th- Eden Kruse
Headline Writing
2nd- Peyton Shaw
3rd- Eden Kruse
5th- Gage Trudeau
News Writing
1st- Aidan Archer
2nd- Peyton Shaw
3rd- Elena Martin
Current Issues & Events-1st Place Team
1st- John Moore
3rd- Sammy Shelor
4th- Alex Caldwell
6th- Charlie Warren
Literary Criticism-1st Place Team
1st- Kathryn McKinney
4th- Alex Davenport
5th- Wolf Hill
Number Sense-1st Place Team
1st- Tison Sames
2nd- Thomas Watson
3rd- Wolf Hill
Ready Writing
2nd- Kathryn McKinney
Science-1st Place Team
2nd- Jacob Mantsch
3rd Kayla Pierce
5th- Kaitlyn Marinos
Top Chemistry- Kaitlyn Marinos
Top Biology- Tyler Youens
Social Studies-1st Place Team
1st- John Moore
2nd- Trinity Rivera
4th- Samuel Crow
5th- Alex Caldwell
2nd- Iris Kawas
3rd- Risa Espinoza
4th- Lydia Krasue
Informative Speaking
1st- Alex Davenport
Lincoln Douglas Debate
2nd- Ella Fertitta
4th- Sophia Vitela
5th- Sadie Osterhuse
Persuasive Speaking
1st- Gage Trudeau
4th- Sophia Vitela
Poetry Interpretation
1st- Alex Davenport

WHS's UIL Academic Coordinator and Director of Forensics is Kyla Brookshier DeLeon. Event specific coaches areAccounting-Roberto Frontera; Science-Laquita Sellers & Pablo Garcia; Journalism-Laquita Sellers; Social Studies & Current Events-Brad Biggers; Lit Crit-Rhonda Riali; Computer Science-Brannon Gilley; Math, Calculator, Number Sense-Pablo Garcia; Spelling-William Bowman; Ready Writing, Speech & Debate- Kyla Brookshier-DeLeon.